discography: Ludo Luda (2001)

tracklijst | audio samples | details

  1. Mahala Arpad
  2. Introduction to Ludo Luda
  3. Ludo Luda (Fools Fancy)
  4. Hochzeitstanz (Wedding Dance)
  5. A Csitari Hegyek Alatt
  6. Pink Panther Theme/ Pink Legényes/ Legényes (in a)
  7. Lullaby/ Mahala
  8. Gankino Horo
  9. Anii Mei (Years of my life)
  10. Hajnali
  11. Jove Malaj Mome
  12. Victor/ Szapora
  13. Csillagok, Csillagok/ Jadran
  14. L'Infidčle
  15. Mult Ma-n treaba Frunza-ngusta
  16. Gypsy Song/ Legényes
  17. Megragjak A Tüzet
  18. Khelimasko Shavo/ Dance tune from Romania
  19. Ludo Luda (Fools rush out ...)

audio samples

Mahala Arpad
A Csitari Hegyek Alatt
Wiegelied/ Mahala
Anii Mei (Years of my life)
Jove Malaj Mome
Victor/ Szapora
Csillagok, Csillagok/ Jadran
Gypsy Song/ Legényes


Modern? Ancient? Pink Panthers and Fools and the Queen with a Moustache? All this and more. Csókolom, the quartet led by Yugoslavian born Anti, plays the music of Greater Transylvania with raw energy and autheticity. This, their second CD, combines the excitement and improvisation of their debut disc, "May I Kiss Your Hand".

Many excellent new tunes, arranged and played the Csókolom way. Some were recorded in the studio, others during a live performance. Also included are exciting live versions of two tunes from the first CD.

This CD was recorded in October and November 2000 in Berlin and Amsterdam.

Personnel and instruments:

Anti von Klewitz - violin, viola (track 5) and voice
Sander Hoving - kontra, violin (tracks 5, 8, 9), viola (track 13b)
Anneke Frankenberg - violin
Gregor Schaefer - double bass

Except track 18: Anti von Klewitz - violin, Sander Hoving - violin, Reinier Voet - guitar, Robin Draganic - double bass.

Recording locations and dates

tracks 1-4, 12, 16: live recording, Freßco, Berlin, November 24, 2000
tracks 7-10, 13: live recording, Beurs van Berlage, Amsterdam, October 15, 2000
tracks 5, 6, 11, 14, 15, 17, 19: studio recording in Berlin, November 21-23, 2000
track 18: Greenfields Studios, Amsterdam, December, 2000

Special thanks to Rinus Groeneveld of Greenfield Studios for his generous assistance, to the Beurs van Berlage in Amsterdam for allowing Csókolom to record the concert, and to Freßco in Berlin for offering their acoustically superb stage.